Notices

Feel like I started off on the wrong foot with sponsor

Old 03-20-2017, 04:02 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Feel like I started off on the wrong foot with sponsor

Hello all. I've been floating around awhile and finally got sufficiently horrified to address my alcoholism.

I've been drinking for 20+ years and over the last 5 years really stepped into new territory. I'm 41 now. Tomorrow I'll be sober 3 weeks.

I've been attending 2 or 3 meetings a day, though I was sick a couple of days last week and only made one meeting for two days in a row. It's been going very well, I feel great (other than the first couple of days and the cold) physically, and I'm very happy with the meetings I've been to.

I was encouraged (almost nagged) by others to get a sponsor immediately, at least a temporary one, and I finally did. For a lot of reasons, some probably more reasonable than you could expect a functional alcoholic to come up with, I was nervous about my choice but finally bit the bullet.

I've talked with him a few times and we've gone to a couple meetings together, and I've seen him at a few meetings.

Here's the rub, though: when folks were encouraging me to get a sponsor, my impression was that it was so I could begin step work. My sponsor didn't mention this in our conversations, and I finally brought it up. He said that he would begin working steps after I'd done 90 in 90 "and then we'd do step 3". This was last week.

When I told a friend (and old drinking buddy, family friend, and now 8 years with the program) over the weekend this he didn't think that it made sense. I really hadn't given it much thought, as I'm really in no hurry, but the more I think about it the more it does sort of stick in my craw.