Infuriated by qualifier pretending to be in recovery

Old 03-06-2017, 01:11 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Infuriated by qualifier pretending to be in recovery

Hi everyone, I'm new to SR and have been in al anon for 4 months. I'm wondering whether anyone has dealt with something similar...

Here's my problem, I was detached from my family for the last few years before al anon and before knowing what detachment was, but 6 months ago I moved back to my home state and am geographically close to both of my separated qualifier parents, which means I see them about once or twice a month at family gatherings.

My AM has always been the victim woe is me type and the whole family seems to go along with everything she says, I'm still not sure whether they are in denial or accept that she lies and manipulates a lot to escape accountability for her addictions.

In any event, as I'm learning not to control or "out" the addict, every time I see my mother she tries to force me to congratulate her on her Xth day sober. I know she is not in recovery and while I do not preoccupy myself with trying to find out whether or not she is still actively using, I also know that she is still using. The whole thing is an intolerable farse and I find it highly coincidental that her recovery began as soon as I found some relief for the first time in my life through al anon despite the fact that she's been an addict for decades-- if anyone reading this has dealt with something similar or knows a good thing to think of or read to help I would appreciate it so much. I feel like it's enough to have had to endure both my parents sicknesses for my whole life and the thought of congratulating myAM on pretending to be in recovery makes my heart sink.
Old 03-06-2017, 05:27 PM
  # 2 (permalink)