Notices

Help with Roommates

Old 02-17-2017, 10:23 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Help with Roommates

Hello!
My first post here- kind of nervous about it too since I haven't seen a lot of situations I can identify with. I'm an undergrad in college.. not drinking age.. but realized I had a drinking problem when my SO (who discourages drinking) asked me how many times I had done it and I told an answer I should have known was a lie, then believed myself
Then the entire day I kept having flashbacks to scenes where I went out and drank and the numbers kept adding up
I'm not an alcoholic, I went weeks without it at a time, but I always thought I had less than I did, or went out less than I did, and sometimes Wanted or craved it, for whatever reason (made me look cool? Who knows, I'm trying to see my schools counseling service)
So I know I can't be a casual drinker

Here's the problem: my roommate this year and my roommates next year drink casually. They agreed that if they ever had a..gathering.. they would tell me first and not drink a lot around me, and I know I don't mind them drinking since it's our house and they should have the right to keep alcohol there.
My worry is that this morning my roommate left her empty alcohol bottles on the counter and I wanted to know what she was drinking so I looked at the label- why did I need to do that? I don't want to be curious about it because the next step would be wanting to know what it tastes like and I can't drink again. How do I get myself to stop and just ignore it?
Old 02-17-2017, 11:11 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome! I'm glad you posted.

One thing I would say is that being an alcoholic isn't about how often you drink, or even how much you drink. It's more about what happens to you when you drink.