Notices

I'm 99% sure I have a problem. Not sure what to do.

Old 02-06-2017, 03:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm 99% sure I have a problem. Not sure what to do.

Hi,

This is my first time on here, if anyone has any advice it would be greatly appreciated. I'm a male, early 30's, living in a major city, with a good job and no dependants. I don't know if any of that's relevant, but I thought I would share.

I've been a heavy drinker for a number of years, probably since I was about 18 and I am pretty sure I have a serious problem with alcohol. Over maybe the last 5 years, my life has been pretty much reduced to a countdown to the next time I get wasted. I seem to be trapped in a depressingly rigid routine of finishing work on Friday, going out and getting absolutely wasted for the entire weekend, then dragging my body out of bed on Monday morning for work again. I honestly cannot remember the last time I had a weekend or a day off where I didn't wake up with a hangover and when i didn't spend the day drinking. I don't even really enjoy it anymore, it's just become such an ingrained part of my life that I can't even imagine doing anything else. I am constantly waking up on a Saturday and Sunday mornings with "the fear". By which I mean I'm missing a part of my memory from the night before, and I feel the waves of embarrassment like a bucket of cold water over my head when I think about what might have happened.

My father was an alcoholic and he died because of it, so I feel like I need to keep my issues with alcohol under wraps (especially from my mother who doesn't live close by) because it would break her heart if she knew. So I find my myself lying constantly to friends, family, work colleagues, doctors etc about how much I've been drinking to try and make myself appear more 'normal'.