Notices

What is wrong with me...

Old 01-29-2017, 11:44 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What is wrong with me...

To be honest, this is not my first time here but I just can't seem to get this thing kicked. It's embarrassing, it's sad, and I keep failing. What is most frustrating is that I have been fortunate enough to be successful in all of my other endeavors. I have a couple graduate degrees, a nice house, a good salary, blah blah blah...

I have tried to quit drinking in a serious way dozens of times and I keep failing. I have so much admiration for the people here that have lasting sobriety. The obvious question is what is my plan? I have tried so many and keep losing...what the hell is wrong with me...

I could tell all the war stories but you all get it - been there, done that - I just feel like disappearing and waking up as a new person without this problem.

Sorry, this is just stream of consciousness but I just want to feel normal...
Old 01-29-2017, 11:52 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome back

I think you'll find a lot of us are high achievers or people who've beat some heavy odds...

I could never understand how I'd beaten all I'd faced...but I couldn't drink like a 'normal person'.

Things got a lot better for me when I accepted that, for whatever reason, fair or not, I have this toxic relationship with alcohol.

Trying to beat it is a lot like holding a venomous snake and willing it not to bite and poison you.

Much better to let go of that sucker and let it slither away...yeah?

D
Old 01-30-2017, 12:00 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Dee74 View Post
Hi and welcome back

I think you'll find a lot of us are high achievers or people who've beat some heavy odds...

I could never understand how I'd beaten all I'd faced...but I couldn't drink like a 'normal person'.

Things got a lot better for me when I accepted that, for whatever reason, fair or not, I have this toxic relationship with alcohol.