Notices

Advice: Deflecting Drink Invitations

Old 01-23-2017, 08:13 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Advice: Deflecting Drink Invitations

Hi Everyone! I've made several attempts at removing alcohol from my life completely and I'm on day 8 now. I'm hoping to stay in this for the long term, but am still struggling with the "forever" idea. I don't go out much, I'm a working student mom and there's just not time....however, when I do meet up with friends on occasion there's usually drinks involved. Do you think it's wrong of me to just NOT meet up with anyone for a while? I only ask because just today I was trying to set up a time to get together with an old friend, but the assumption was over a glass of wine. I so rarely meet up with anyone outside my family...so I'm lucky it's not a regular temptation. I guess I'd just like to hear some advice and what you guys think or do in the situation. I'm also trying to go at it differently this time....I don't want to meet up with an old friend and have that change my thought process at the moment. I really want to get strong mentally with this whole thing before I put myself in any tempting situations. What do you all think??
Sorry to ramble....
Old 01-23-2017, 08:19 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Wildchild [full of grace]. My drinking friends disappear when I'm on the wagon. Recently Iooked up and old friend who I hadn't seen in a while. There was no temptation to drink but we both quickly remembered why we don't stay in touch.

Maybe someone has been missing you, who does not imbibe.
Old 01-23-2017, 11:01 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
saoutchik

Hi wildchild. It is definitely not wrong to avoid altogether, situations that include alcohol in early recovery. If you are concerned about telling your friends the reason you are not drinking you can always say you are on antibiotics or something.

The other thing is to maybe see your friend at a coffee shop or similar, someplace alcohol is not served