Triggered

Old 01-19-2017, 08:21 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Triggered

A friend of mine was denied when trying to buy a home. It made my stomach sink and made me feel so bad for her and scared for me. What is it that makes some people successful? My life has not been a picnic but I see that I have a real life second chance to make it everything I wanted it to be. Is this old guilt? I feel kind of selfish because I'm taking her pain and making it about me... I don't know how to comfort her... maybe because I know how much despair she's feeling. It's almost like an emotional flashback... and there's nothing I can say or do to make her feel better... she needs to do that on her own.

For me, life has generally been a series of struggles but I always seem to do better. I'm persistent and am willing to do things I've never done before. Is this the secret? I don't know what I'm getting at, I feel very guilty. Very, very guilty. She tells me what she deals with (her mom is an active addict and she lives with her parents) and there's so little I can do. I don't know how to encourage her to get out of that mental death trap. I see what it's doing to her life and her self esteem. I really need to take care of myself right now and I don't know how I can do that while being affected like so from these stories. It's not my life, not my experience but I feel so much for her I can feel the weight pulling me down. I feel like so many people are just, miserable! I don't know who else is going to be left... I know she will pull herself through this but I don't know at what cost.
Old 01-20-2017, 03:21 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sober since 10th April 2012

Helping a friend change their attitude is a tough one. You have to be open to the message at the time and if she's not, you might as well not bother.