Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

Made it to two weeks: but physical craving getting worse not better...

Notices

Old 12-30-2016, 06:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Managed two weeks, and this is my first try at this so I wasn't sure what to expect but starting to feel better and get more of my "self" back which is great. However the physical craving is really hitting me harder than I thought it would and seems to be getting stronger not weaker.

All this is not helped by the house being full of booze from Christmas and the New Year Party which is tomorrow (this was arranged months ago and I can't not do it now).

I know the cravings are only short periods and I just wait them out and distract myself but esh they are getting tougher to get through. Any good strategies or things I can do and any idea on how long before the physical craving starts to abate a bit?

Thanks

Sorry I just realised I've posted this in the wrong forum can a mod please move this please?
Old 12-30-2016, 06:33 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Unwound

Your cravings sound to me more like the 'mental obsession' side of things, as opposed to physical.

What are you doing for your recovery, beyond just not drinking?
Old 12-30-2016, 06:34 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome Unwound, and congratulations on two weeks!

I remember the third week being particularly difficult for me. As for tomorrow I would be sure and eat lots to stay on the full side. I used protein shakes and it took the edge off. If there's time to get to the gym for a nice workout you may consider it......very helpful for me if I'm feeling anxious or at loose ends. Stick around and post here when you can slip away during the gathering.

Best wishes to you and I look forward to seeing you around.
Old 12-30-2016, 07:44 AM
  # 4 (permalink)