Notices

From great to horrible

Old 11-12-2016, 07:00 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

From great to horrible

Hi everyone - I'm just my wits end. I had close to a month of sobriety recently and it was great. My family life was greatly improved, my self esteem was getting better and I loved getting up every day without a hangover. Then I slipped but caught myself after one glass of wine and went back to a sober week.

Then the election happened here in US and I've just not been able to feel anything but anxiety. This isn't meant to be any comment on politics - it's just been a big trigger for me. I'm a small business owner and I'm fearful about the economy. It has personal ramifications and I'm struggling with the stress.

Last night I had a total meltdown after a bottle of wine (of course I didn't post here, or call either of my counselors - it was like I was driven back in the arms of my best friend - booze) and evidently said some horrible things to my husband in front of his employee. My husband told me that he doesn't want to be married to me anymore after experiences like last night. He also said I'm a big baby for acting like this because of a new president and everyone else is just fine with continuing their life and not using it as an excuse to drink. Bottom line - I've taken a big step back in the eyes of my family and I'm ashamed, feel despondent and for the first time, thought of suicide this morning. However, I wouldn't do it because my son is my life. I just don't want to keep fighting through the highs and lows of my life compounded by alcoholism. I'm just super tired of it all.

Going to an AA meeting today. I just don't know if anything is really helping at this point

Has anyone else felt like this? I need something to hold on to and thanks for any advice.....
Old 11-12-2016, 07:19 AM
  # 2 (permalink)