Notices

FOMO this Halloween night

Old 10-31-2016, 07:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

FOMO this Halloween night

This is my first year missing out on my local bars annual Halloween party. It's always a ton of fun....isn't it?

Not really. Fun for the first hour maybe but the night inevitably ended the same, me being stupid drunk, forgetting most of the night, and waking up embarrassed and full of shame.

But still... suffering terrible "fomo" (fear of missing out) right now. Getting Snaps from people at the party, texts from friends saying they're sorry I didn't go because it's so much fun. I'm sure it's a blast. For them.

I feel very, very good about my decision not to go and to stay sober. I know the FOMO will go away soon. Just wish it would go away sooner rather than later, lol. As much "fun" as I am missing, I am so grateful that I will wake up tomorrow morning hangover-free and not hating myself.
Old 10-31-2016, 07:48 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

When I feel like I miss out on something or am jealous of other people cause they can drink when I can't I'll try to fast forward 10 years and ask myself if I care about not drinking that day in October 2016. Probably not. But I sure would be happy and proud that I made the decision to stay sober and stuck to it. So I'm not missing out on anything of any importance.
Old 10-31-2016, 09:16 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Last I checked, my perception of the "good times" wasn't consistent with reality. I thought I was a dancer, but I was just drunk. I thought I was clever and funny, but I was just as often crude and obnoxious. I thought I was a ladies man, which is just another term for womanizer.

I guess I don't relate to FOMO on particular dates. When it came to drinking, I drank every day, holiday or not. Letting Halloween pass without being canned is, by and large, like letting any other night when I wasn't a dancer, clever and funny, or a ladies man pass by.