Putting the Beast back in it's place

Old 10-15-2016, 03:57 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Putting the Beast back in it's place

I can't believe I was whining a couple of days ago on a thread about how I couldn't stop drinking for good, because guilt for past drinking, was stopping me!
I know I'm new to AVRT again, but the shift in thinking is amazing.
I can call the sentiments I expressed about guilt in another post "the whine of the Beast" now.
I SHOULD feel guilty, I acted irresponsibly. But that isn't the reason I went back to drinking time and again. I went back to drinking, because the Beast wanted alcohol to gain pleasure and I gave it.
My guilt, will be dealt with by me It's a seperate issue from wanting a drink. I feel guilty because I went against my own moral code of what I believe to be right.
If I had never drank in my life, and did something that I knew to be the wrong thing to do I would feel guilty, that's what guilt is! And I wouldn't dream of thinking of doing the same thing that made me feel guilt in the first place, to relieve that guilt!
Old 10-15-2016, 04:16 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Right, that's enough belly-button gazing for one day. Off to spend the day with my grandbaby and have a good time.
Old 10-15-2016, 05:48 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Sainos, I hope you enjoy your day with grand baby!

I too found it useful to attach a morality issue, albeit painful. But once I'd researched the bio/neuro basis of addiction and acquired the knowledge that I had an inbuilt power to quell the addictive drive; and live my life as the Beast's master and not it's slave. Then at that point, to not put that power into action, would've been wrong and against my morality.

I'm newly recovered and can attest to the relief I felt, the joy and excitement, that I was free, so long as I recognised the AV.