Notices

Alcoholic Kindling

Old 10-11-2016, 11:51 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Alcoholic Kindling

Hello all, Im on day 4.

Ive been reading a bit about the concept kindling. How after repeated binges and withdrawals (during which the brain is in a hyper excited state) the withdrawals become progressively worse until the brain suffers from cognitive decline.

I have been worrying about this. Ive been bingeing and withdrawing for 20+ years. My withdrawals now are indeed more powerful than when I was 30 (ten years ago).

Nowadays after a drinking session (usually 10 beers) I wake up very anxious (that lasts 2-3 days) and I have insomnia for about 3-4 days. Ive read that this may be kindling in progress. I have never had DTs or seizures though.

I have been doing online IQ/memory tests to convince myself I don't have cognitive decline!

Does anyone have any experience with this?

Thanks,
Old 10-12-2016, 12:20 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

All I can offer is my experience drash - I drank for 20 years, the last 5 of those all day everyday...I suffered several mini strokes in to the bargain.

It took a long time but I think my cognitive abilities are now back as good as they've ever been.

I do have some slight aphasia type thing where I might type the wrong word (I typed 'not' for 'now' just then) but I think that's my brain moving faster than my fingers.

I'm conscious of the mistake most times so I'm not worried about it.

The brain is remarkable in the ways it can retrain itself.

Of course if you're concerned about this the only real way to find out for sure is see your Dr?

D
Old 10-12-2016, 12:30 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Blue Belt

Drash,

Imo....we get so many units of booze in a lifetime before our body and mind start to really feel and show the damage of the drinking. What is that number? My body and mind told me I reached it.

I started drinking to get drunk at 6 years old. I drank off and on until I quit at 50.