Notices

something positive

Old 09-23-2016, 03:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

something positive

I'm a substitute teacher. Worked with very challenging 4th graders today. Kids from poor neighborhoods. These kids trust nobody for good reason. If you want to learn how to overcome hardships and keep fighting, work with kids like this and you will learn a lot. They are better at it than a lot of adults I know. God only knows what they are going through. Their strength, perserverance, and positive outlook on life is enough to humble anybody and really see just how lucky you are. For a while, they watched me closely, but after a while, they loosened up and we connected. These kids learned at an early age who to trust and who to avoid. They are really good at reading people well, because that's how they survive. They drove me nuts all day, but I have tremendous respect for them. Whenever I start feeling sorry for myself, I think of these little kids that show tremendous strength in overcoming challenges that most of us will never have to deal with. John
Old 09-23-2016, 03:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Very good post John. Thank you for that Great reminder.
Old 09-23-2016, 03:22 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks for the perspective
Old 09-23-2016, 03:40 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

If we are looking for ESH, these kids will give it to you. Listen to their stories, and it will change you. I've dealt with abuse as a child and have managed to work through it and have done pretty good, but these kids have experienced things much worse than what I went through, yet are able to get up every day and try to keep positive. As kids, they have no control over their lives, but somehow, they manage to fight through it and try to keep a positive attitude. If they can do it ,what excuse do I have? These little kids are my role model. Amazing what a 10 year old can teach you. They are what I hope to become. John
Old 09-23-2016, 05:37 PM
  # 5 (permalink)