Notices

Hello, New Member Joining the fight to recovery

Old 09-15-2016, 01:43 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello, New Member Joining the fight to recovery

Just and introduction here.

I've been drinking daily for 23 years, working in the bar industry nearly all of that time. While that does provide ample opportunities to drink at first I was just a moderate drinker able to have one or two and not worry about it. The first time I started drinking more was about 18 years ago when I quit smoking. Somehow my tolerance doubled instantly, it actually made it easier to not drink in bars because I knew I'd puke if I did. Giving up the smokes was hard but I've not smoked since.

1-2 drinks turned into 3-6 drinks for a few years but in 2002 I got a DUI. That woke me up a little and I quit doing things like drinking on the job (in that state at the time it was acceptable at the job and not against state law to consume alcohol in the bar. As long as our performance didn't suffer it was OK. I was a top seller, with a strong regular customer following. My drinking on the job didn't bring me down. The DUI however woke me up. I was lucky when I got it as I was low that night, prior to that I'd drive sloshed more often than I'd like to admit.

I was back down to 1-2 a day after that, with occasionally more.

I have back problems and in 2006 started taking mild opiates per Dr recommendation. In 2008 I hurt myself more in Physical Therapy that lead into a downward spiral of stronger and stronger meds. I med regime was shocking when I look back at how much I was actually taking. Elevated to the very strong stuff, they actually seemed to make me hurt more but that's another story for some other place. The point here is in early 2014 I decided to kick the meds.