Notices

Detoxing on your own......

Old 09-10-2016, 10:53 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Detoxing on your own......

Hey there. So, I am an alcoholic. I am still drinking. I am a fairly successful professional. And havevbeen drinking for years, heavily, but not out of control, per se. Now, and for some time, it has gone beyond the bottle of wine or martinis at the end of the day. Now, I am drinking in the mornings just to be able to function because of intense anxiety.

I don't even like drinking anymore. I hate it in fact. But I need to function and without some alcohol I get so overwhelmed with anxiety I can hardly keep myself from crawling under the bed and hiding from the world.

So my dilemma is this. I simply do not have time to go out into inpatient detox/ rehab. But I read these horror stories of terrible withdrawal and seizures. Can I quit cold turkey safely on my own?

Thanks for your input.
Old 09-10-2016, 11:00 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

E,
I'm glad your looking for help but no one but your doctor can advise you about detox. You should make an appointment ASAP. I will say that I own my own business and did not "have time" either. In retrospect, getting sober was by far the most important and benificial thing I ever did. Do what ever you have to to get sober. Good luck my friend.
Old 09-10-2016, 11:11 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I would see your GP asap as alcohol withdrawal can be very serious.
Good luck
Old 09-10-2016, 11:13 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Yes, do talk to your dr because detoxing from alcohol can be unpredictable and dangerous.
Old 09-10-2016, 11:16 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

glad youre here.
ive heard from doctors,nurses, a pharmacist,lawyers, politicians, and quite a few other people in different professions that said stopping the lie that they dont have time for rehab, putting getting sober 1st, and going to rehab was the greatest decision they ever made.