Notices

no contact

Old 09-03-2016, 12:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

no contact

Hi, I am new to this organization and have never posted messages to any forum before. Thank you for your patience for letting me vent. It feels comforting to know that there are others who have had similar experiences as mine.

I grew up with a violent drunk, my father. He was a binge drinker. He lost his job because of his drinking, the binges got closer and closer together. My mom had a 9th grade education and didn't work so we lived on food stamps and welfare.

Here are a few memories I have that will give you an idea what it was like growing up with a violent drunk. While my dad never hit me, I was witness to him knocking out my mother's teeth in one of his drunken melees and him trying to kill my teenage brother with a baseball bat. My dad stole money from me when I was a kid; he took my coin collection to buy booze. He drank my brother's aftershave and my perfume when he didn't have booze on hand. He used to buy small items with our welfare stamps so he could accrue enough small change to buy booze.

I am now middle-aged, married with two teenage children and still I can't understand why no one in my family (aunts, uncles, grandparents) ever seemed to be interested in my mother's, brother's or my welfare when I was a child.

I was the the "caretaker" in our family. For example, when I was a freshman in high school I had to call my friend's dad to drive my father to the emergency room because he fell down the basement stairs and busted his head (he was drunk). My mother allowed me to do this. I realize now that that was crazy for me to take that responsibility.