Notices

Finally had enough

Old 08-26-2016, 09:05 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Finally had enough

Hello everyone. I am trying something that I've wanted to do for years. I want to stop being an alcoholic and today is day zero. I've been drinking for at least 20 years. It has been a roller coaster, some years I had more control and didn't drink a lot, some years I can barely remember and not sure how I survived. I seemed to have stopped the binge, party, wake up somewhere strange drinking . But I have replaced it with a steady flow of alcohol on a nightly basis to "calm down" from a stressful , or the 6 beers while cutting the lawn, to the 12 pack while on the golf course. I've basically associated everything that I enjoy to do with alcohol. I'm tired of it, I want to stop and I feel like it will help me to be able to reach out to people that are further down the path than I am. Day zero begins for me and I want to be successful.
Old 08-26-2016, 09:15 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome Bowski.. ur where I was. Life is so much better without the beer.. and trust me, it only gets worse from where you are now. But you will need a plan, and support, or the best intentions fade when you start to feel a little better, or the guys offer you a cold one. This forum saved me.. I suggest joining the August 2016 class, and checking in a lot. Also AA is helpful if you need face to face support. Good luck man, you can do it if you really want it.
Old 08-26-2016, 09:19 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
The road goes on forever

Hey there Bowski - You have the best support in world here. I am amazed at the people and their knowledge and compassion.

I was drinking a lot too for many years ,,,

Had enough and Quit cold turkey last January.

I have had slips.... But today I can proudly say that I am over 1 month sober.

Best to you!!
Old 08-26-2016, 09:28 AM
  # 4 (permalink)