Notices

Day 2. Introduction...

Old 08-19-2016, 03:23 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 2. Introduction...

Good morning everyone...I just found this site yesterday and I imagine I will be spending a great deal of time here.
You see, I used to drink.... A lot. Then I stopped for quite a few years, but now, it is rearing its ugly head again.... I divorced and am since engaged again (5years later) to a fine gentleman who doesn't have the backbone to not drink himself (but I can drink him under the table).
But he isn't my problem. My problem is me. One is too many and a case not enough.
I hate waking up and feeling fuzzy and having no energy and just laying around. I hate that my memory is leaving me and I am gaining weight. I hate that I have no control over this demon inside that wants to destroy me.
I am a nurse and a damn good one, and I see patients all the time that are alcoholics and/ or addicts. That are my age.... I don't want to go that far. (No, I have never drank at work).
I also have an ulcer and have been told not to drink, but I still do. I can't control it.
Well... Enough. Thank you for this site and the inspiration.
I hope to "meet" a lot of you and make some friends to give me encouragement throughout this journey....
(((Hugs!)))

Pitty
Old 08-19-2016, 03:27 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome Pitty - you'll find a lot of support and good ideas here

D
Old 08-19-2016, 03:32 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
The road goes on forever

Hi Pitty - welcome to SR ..
I hope you find the help and support you need to get sober.
Thanks for your story and best to you.
Old 08-19-2016, 03:33 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR Pitty. As you've already noticed, there is a ton of wisdom and compassion within this community.

You've stopped drinking before, you have the strength to do it again. You know what it takes and just need to brush off the tools that got you there.