Notices

Here I am...

Old 07-20-2016, 07:01 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Here I am...

I cannot believe I remembered my login info, says last time I visited was January 24, 2013. I don't really know what to say. I am just extremely lost and need to get some thoughts out I guess. I am sorry if anyone reads this. It probably won't make much sense.

I have been abusing alcohol (and other things) for 16 years.

I ended up in the hospital and medically detoxed for my first time in January of 2014, and since then have been trying to stay sober without much success. I can't remember how many times I have detoxed at the hospital in the past 2.5 years, and I have been to treatment 4 times. Lived in two 3/4 way houses.

I have been in AA for about 2 years. Worked the steps multiple times... gotta start over after every relapse... my sponsor won't give up on me. But I am pretty much convinced the 12 steps don't work for me. I try. I try so hard. I go to 3-5 meetings every week, I do the service work, I have tons of friends in AA. I am praying and meditating, but I cannot make myself believe in a higher power or prayer or anything spiritual. Am I willing to believe? I thought so, I thought I was willing to do anything to relieve myself of the obsession to drink. I guess willingness isn't enough. I don't even want to try to make AA work for me any longer, I don't really see the point. I am frustrated with the steps because I can get sober, but I am not STAYING sober. It is my fault the steps don't work for me, I understand that, I am doing it wrong. I am not a spiritual person. Which is the problem according to the big book. But the steps are not fixing that for me, like they are supposed to.

I must be too stubborn. And I am defiant, wish I wasn't, but I'm just going to be honest here. I also think I am being lazy about recovery... because I should really just keep at AA, but I am starting to wonder about the possibility of something else (not spiritual) that might help me.