Notices

Advice for newly sober at social occasions

Old 07-14-2016, 04:56 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Advice for newly sober at social occasions

Hi Everyone,

I am new to sobriety. Whilst not physically addicted to alcohol, I drink excessively 2/3 nights a week (for 15 years, prob 1/2 nights a week for 10 years before that), the consequences of which are enough to make me want to stop. Every time I have a drink I get drunk, I am absolutely and completely unable to moderate my alcohol intake once started. Over the last 9 months I have tried to quit several times and have failed every time. I am now 4 days sober and back at AA meetings, really serious about it this time. I have been to some sharing meetings but I don't have a sponsor, haven't started the steps and don't feel I know enough to support me properly yet.

In about 10 days we are traveling overseas to visit my husband's family, many of whom I haven't seen in 8 years. None of them know I have been to AA and I can't tell them. They know that sometimes I used to get too drunk and made an idiot of myself but they probably expect I have settled down by now. They are all big drinkers (but not alcoholics). As we haven't been back for so long there is going to be social occasion after social occasion. Dinner round at this cousin's house, drinks at the pub, another dinner. I am going to be offered alcohol on a daily basis, possibly many times a day. And I am **** scared because if I relapse I will almost definitely embarrass myself, insult someone, do something stupid.