Notices

Trying to get through it

Old 07-02-2016, 01:50 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Trying to get through it

Newbie here. First post. I'm in my early 30''s and habe been an alcoholic for 10 years. My first day of sobriety was 6-27. I'm working on day 6 today. I was drinking a pint of vodka a night. Sometimes I would switch it up and drink a whole bottle of red wine. If I was ever sober for a day it was because I was too hungover or weak to go to the liquor store. I needed to make a change in my life because I'm getting older and I've realized that I completely wasted my 20's getting wasted.

I had horrible hot flashes, anxiety, sweating (withdrawal stench, gross!), headaches, upset tummy, shakiness, headaches, mild hullicinations, itching, weakness etc. The usual stuff. I feel a bit better today. I've been on multivitamins, magnesium, zinc, vitamin b supplements and I feel like they're giving me some strength. I've worn my body out for too many years.

I've quit before (made it 30 days before total relapse) but that was over 6 years ago. Back to square 1. I still feel a little rotten today (dehydrated no matter how much water/juice I drink, fatigue, brain fog, headache) but I feel much better today than the previous days. I even feel a little happier. I have some beer and wine in my kitchen and it's presence isn't bothering me at the moment.

Any words of advice? Sadly I won't get out much this weekend because my body doesn't feel up to it quite yet and I know I'd want a beer at least (or 10) since it is a holiday 3 day weekend. Any good books or movies that people like me can relate to? Any good alcohol memoirs? I might work up the strength to go to the bookstore if I do go out. I'm determined to get my life right this time around. Thank you for reading.
Old 07-02-2016, 01:58 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I absolutely loved the book 'Dry' by Augusten Burroughs and 'Blackout' by Sarah Hepola. Any of them are pretty great.