Mom in hospital. Sister laughs at news.

Old 06-16-2016, 04:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Mom in hospital. Sister laughs at news.

Some of you may know that my mom was diagnosed with cancer last year. She even got admitted to hospice, but then this year she turned around for the better. So she got kicked out and her cancer's decreasing.

My sister went AWOL during my mom's worst period. She's had a history of drug and alcohol abuse before but she swears up and down now that she isn't using. Her boyfriend is open about his heavy pot useage, and both she and he are NOT financially independent. She is now living with my parents, more or less, and he with his.

Anyway, my mom decided to quit her anti-depressants and anti-anxiety medications cold turkey because, hey, she's doing better right? I didn't think it was a great idea, but I'm not a doctor. And her doctor cleared it too.

So my dad was beginning to report that her behavior was getting increasingly erratic and angry. Today she threatened to commit suicide and walked into her swimming pool. She can't swim.

My dad thought she was being manipulative and told her to go to the deep end, "as a test to see if she was really being suicidal." He's been her primary caretaker, and he's been at it way too long. My mom also was refusing to get additional help, she was socially isolating herself, and she was also telling him that he couldn't leave her alone in the house EVER. Which is completely unrealistic. So he snapped.

My sister won't help him out even though she theoretically lives with them. (She's out most of the time anyway).

So she walked into the water, decided it was too cold, and walked back into the house. Dad called me up, and told me that he cancelled all his client calls for the day because he couldn't live with himself if something really happened to her.