Notices

The Universe approves.

Old 06-07-2016, 06:44 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

The Universe approves.

Tonight, two days shy of a month sober, I find a message on my answering machine (yes, land line; I'm a dinosaur) from someone at our local upscale restaurant. I live in a tiny village that attracts summer tourists, and this place is our only upscale eatery, bustling with wealthy clientele all summer long. A woman named Rachel heard that I might be interested in providing some music entertainment this summer, and said she had some Friday night gigs open, please give her a call...

I've been a paid church musician for twenty years; I've played "out" at special events, dinners, funerals several times; many years ago, I sang and played keyboard at this restaurant a couple of summers in a row; all this to say, it's been a loooong time since I've been offered a paid gig to play for a dinner crowd, so this offer was completely out of nowhere, and took me by surprise. I happily agreed to three Friday nights, once a month, in June, July and August. 6-9 pm, $125 a night, with the chance for some decent tips, doing something I love to do. I'm very pleased...

...and it suddenly occurred to me afterward: if she had called me a month ago, in the depths of my miserable drinking career, I'm quite sure I would've had to turn her down, feeling completely unable to be seen in such a public spotlight either half-drunk or miserably hung over and wracked with anxiety. She really did call quite late in the season; my first gig is a week from Friday.

I truly believe Something waited to put this amazing opportunity in front of me until I was finally sober and confident enough to handle it. I've been grousing lately that not much in my life has changed since getting sober; well...here ya go, Arp, try this on for size! Feeling a little bit blessed, and wanted to share. Thanks for listening.
Old 06-07-2016, 06:51 PM
  # 2 (permalink)