Recently Sober AW Leaving me for AA Sponsor

Old 06-06-2016, 12:35 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Recently Sober AW Leaving me for AA Sponsor

Yep, you read it right. Been with her 13 yrs, married 11 yrs this July. She binged last Nov/Dec again. I didn't understand the disease at this point and lost it, and threatened divorce and she reluctantly went into intense outpatient ttmt. I went in for friends and family sessions, supported her best I could while working. Within 5 mos. of being sober and she's sleeping with her male "temporary sponsor". Not even concerned that she was groomed and taken advantage of. Nobody at AA apparently is concerned either. I talked with her female sponsor, and she places no accountability on AAs part, and recommended counseling (!). The guy is a biker, has no job, no education, is collecting SSI for a disability, and is 15 yrs older than her. He convinced her to buy a Harley. She's a Physician's Assist, I'm a professional engineer, and I put her through school. Now after being there for her, and pushing her into recovery, my repayment will be that she'll get half my retirement/401K, and the house, which her unemployed AA sponsor BF will undoubtedly share with her in my absence. The neighbors are going to love seeing this tatted up predator cutting the lawn and a seeing a bunch of HDs parked in the front yard. I made a huge mistake in choosing this woman and am pursuing a divorce this week. I thought she'd get sober and thank me. Instead I'm the cause of all her problems. She was an AH with a .21 DUI before I met her, but I'm the problem. Life is funny some times, but I'm not laughing! Thanks for allowing me to vent. I was "sharing" I suppose.

Last edited by CoDnoMore; 06-06-2016 at 12:37 AM. Reason: addition
Old 06-06-2016, 12:46 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Sorry for your pain.

Sadly this is not uncommon. The insanity of alcoholism doing what it does.
Old 06-06-2016, 01:47 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Hi, Rocky......and Welcome!