Lost, confused, upset...

Old 06-01-2016, 02:37 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Lost, confused, upset...

Hi everyone... I'm still new to SR and have been reading many people's stories and finding it really helpful. I'm just feeling in need of some advice or encouragement of some kind...

My addict ex-bf broke up with me about 2 months ago, after confessing to me that he'd become a "junkie" and was in debt, using almost every day and failing his uni course. There were definitely signs leading up to this but I had no idea things were so bad for him. The weeks following him breaking up with me have been such a rollercoaster - me lending him money, being abused by him, then being told he loves me and wants to marry me one day, watching him be arrested for domestic violence, having to give a statement against him, going with him to court, watching him lie to me and continue to use, hook up with another girl, etc etc. I'm completely shattered.

In the past 2 weeks, after he almost died of an overdose, he has started to turn things around. I took him to a doctor, he has started seeing a drug counsellor and a psychologist, and is taking mood stabilisers for impulse control. He tells me he's had enough, it's not good anymore, he's going to do everything he can to get better now. He cried for ages and just held me and said he's so sorry for hurting me. He also can't be in a relationship right now, which I totally agree with and I understand that he needs to get better on his own before I can be with him again. But...that's also the part I'm finding it really hard to deal with. He hasn't actually committed to me, but still messages me every day telling me he loves me. But, he doesn't know when or even if he will still want to be together when he gets better, but says he thinks he will want to when he's ready.