Notices

First time here.

Old 05-30-2016, 09:11 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

First time here.

Hello, this is my first time here after looking for help to quit drinking. Im 23 and used to drink socially during highschool and a few years after. only one or twice a month if even that, then my brother and best friend died in a car wreck just over 2 years ago and I fell deep. Im now at the point i drink a 12 pack and sometimes another 4 16oz more every night. today was my first day sober. Ive tried to quit a few times before, but the longest ive lasted was 13 days. I have an amazing job, wife, and a son who just turned 1 this month. Ive had anxiety and depression issues my whole life and drinking has made them worse, part of why Im just now reaching out. I want more than anything to put this past me and get healthy again so I can have a good long life with my family. Sorry for the wall of text but thats my back story, I look forward to going on this journey with all of you and get the support I need! Any suggestions to get started? Expecially with help sleeping and a racing heart. Im taking a multi vitamin, B supplement and milk thistle extract as of now. Im kind of going into this blind, my drinking has exausted my savings and I cant afford to go see a doctor for at least a few more weeks
Old 05-30-2016, 09:18 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome Patch and I am pleased you reached out. More people will be along to welcome you and also give you guidance soon I am sure, I am in Australia so my timezone means it is day here, so I am awake while most are asleep - I just wanted to welcome you on this journey, that is challenging but is so worth it! you will get great support here.
Old 05-30-2016, 09:22 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

thank you! I work graveyard shift so I'm backwards from most people too. This is just the beginning of my work day haha.
Old 05-30-2016, 09:42 PM
  # 4 (permalink)