Notices

GonnaGetSober's introduction

Old 05-08-2016, 12:26 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

GonnaGetSober's introduction

Greetings all,

I was directed here by a fellow Redditor in Recovery and wanted to introduce myself.

I am VERY new to the road down recovery. Well, maybe that isn't entirely true, I guess maybe I should say that up until now I thought I was strong enough to get through this on my own. They say the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result. It took a lot of self-introspection for me to realize that what I was doing wasn't working and that my addiction had more power over me than I wanted to admit.

I would describe my experience with addiction as moderate. I have been a meth addict for close to two years and would consider myself a moderately heavy to heavy user for that time. My cousin was a long-time meth addict who has just recently celebrated eight years sober, and I was in a long-term relationship with a Heroin addict. I am currently married to a meth addict who will be joining me on his own road to recovery. I had not yet discovered my love for meth and had a front-row seat to see the paths my cousin and significant other at the time were heading down. That would be enough of a reason to "Just Say No" for many people but the first time I used I was convinced that I was the exception to the rule and that it would never get the best of me.