Notices

Newbie. Sober 3 days. Felt I need to share my story.

Old 04-27-2016, 07:23 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie. Sober 3 days. Felt I need to share my story.

Hello,

I'm 35 years old and have been sober for three full days. I began to drink heavily as soon as I graduated highschool, and through college.

I then had a job that required me to be mostly sober for 4 to 5 days per week. On my off days, it was a free for all.

About a year ago, I took a new job that allowed me to work pretty much normal 9-5 hours, with about 60% of that company travel. My off time, both at home and away, was spent drinking.

I'd go through at least a fifth every other day, and/or anywhere between 5-8 beers per night.

I tried to "cut back"several times. That never worked, or lasted more than a day.

Two weeks ago, on a Monday morning, I told myself I'd only drink on the weekends. That lasted just about 12 hours, and I had a few beers that very night.

This past Saturday, I had a few too many beers and got into an argument with my wife. We were fighting over something stupid, that I completely made up. So stupid.

Sunday, I had no urge to drink, but did anyway. I then left on a company trip Monday morning. On Monday, day before yesterday, I decided that's it.

There had been too many fights, to many arguments, too many hangovers, too many days called in sick to work, to much money spent, too many bottle bought with a CREDIT CARD. Too much. Too many.

I've been sober three days. Monday was hell. I didn't face any physical symptoms, but the emotional ones were unbelievable. I was craving it. I was trying my hardest to talk myself into going to the hotel bar for "just one." But I didn't.

I had horrible restless sleep that night. I had vivid nighmares. I dreamt that I was being executed, and I was asking my kids (7, 5, 2, and 9months) to "tell me something that you like about daddy, before they put me to death." I woke up crying my eyes out.