Notices

Feeling extremely desperate.

Old 04-14-2016, 09:52 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Feeling extremely desperate.

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie. My name is Tatianna. I'm 30 years old and i've been alcoholic since I was 22. Just a little background info on my situation. I've been suffering with severe anxiety and depression since I was 17. I've had jobs here and there, but I've been a recluse for a huge chunk of my life. I've had long periods of sobriety when I went back to school to study for my GED two years back. I lucked out and found an amazing teacher and class. I did amazing in that class, and ended up passing all the subjects with flying colors EXCEPT the math. I failed by two points. You need a minimum of 500 on each subject to pass. I got 498. It was a little devastating at first, but I decided to go back to class to study some more. I ended up failing the math for a 2nd time. I got a 487 this time around. At this point I fell into a DEEP depression, and started drinking heavily.

Fastforward six months later. Me and my mother found out we had to move out of our apartment. We're both born and bred ny'ers. My whole entire family lived on the same block for over 25 years. I live with my mother because she's severely disabled. I've been her caregiver for 6+ years. Unfortunately we couldn't afford to stay in NY because the rents are astronomical. Even in the outer boroughs are crazy
due to gentrification. So we found a decent complex in allentown PA which is 2 hours outside of NY. The reason we had to move is really complicated, so I won't go into it.

OMG the homesickness has been UNREAL. It's like I went to one extreme to another. Culture shock would be putting it mildly. Since we moved here i've been feeling this extreme lonliness I have never felt in my whole entire life, and my anxiety is through the roof. The transition has been rough to say the least. My drinking has increased tenfold since we got here (7 months ago)