Notices

I want to drink...

Old 04-08-2016, 05:45 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I want to drink...

I am regretting beginning Antabuse because I really want to drink right now. Today is the third day I took it at dose 500mg. Last took it a couple hours ago. Very tempted to go out and get some nips.. How sick would I get? Guess there is only one way to find out. .
Old 04-08-2016, 05:47 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I have no experience with that, but I've heard people can get pretty sick from doing that. Why not take advantage of the three days of sobriety you already have and add more sober time? Is a drink worth getting very sick over? Get some sober time under your belt.
Old 04-08-2016, 05:51 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Please don't find out how sick you would get. I've heard it's awful.
Old 04-08-2016, 05:52 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
RIP Sweet Suki

There is obviously a reason you started taking Antabuse. Remember why you started. Either you want to live a sober life or you don't. You have to want to be sober more than you want to drink. You have three days...why start drinking again even if you didn't get sick?
Old 04-08-2016, 05:56 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator

How about focusing on not drinking instead Charx? You don't want to end up in the ER..

Antabuse or not, you're going to have to learn that cravings are not imperatives - we don't have to act on them.

you can get through them, they do pass, and you can stay sober

Here's some great tips to help:
http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...-cravings.html

D
Old 04-08-2016, 06:11 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Re-Member

I have seen the results of people drinking on Antabuse. It is awful. Like near-alcohol poisoning times ten.

First--make sure you're not hungry. That's the biggest and easiest to fix trigger out there.