Notices

This is Strange

Old 04-04-2016, 03:23 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

This is Strange

I don't mean to sound trite here, but I'm finding it really strange that after 4 weeks abstinence from alcohol, I have no cravings at all, no desire to drink. I had a couple of flashes, like when my daughter left to go back to the town she now lives in after a visit but not what I would call cravings.
Has this ever happened to anyone else?

I have tried to give up a million times and have succeeded sometimes for months (but that was quite a few years ago). I have been drinking this time really heavily for 3+ years. But in all 17 years of alcoholism.

Every other time I have given up (even after being hospitalized or arrested) the cravings were back within 2 weeks or less.

This time, I have made a plan. I am using Smart tools to control any emotions, especially anger and frustration which were always triggers.
But to be truthful I have only had to use them a handful of times.
I've never had this happen before, has anyone else?
Old 04-04-2016, 03:55 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Lucky you. Don't let your guard down. The AV is very crafty.
Old 04-04-2016, 03:58 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

The AV, is after all part of me, so I know it as well as it knows me...so I know it is crafty haha
I just have never had this before, it's strange. Good. But strange.
The thing different this time, is that even if I could drink "normally" I wouldn't want to. I don't want that feeling of even being tipsy. I used to like that, but now the thoughts of it makes me feel sick
Old 04-04-2016, 04:08 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Everytime I think I know my AV, it comes up with some new way to bite me in the butt. Anyway, good on you for no cravings! Hope it stays that way. I'm a month in and have to say I get plenty of cravings still.
Old 04-04-2016, 04:09 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
AA member

Congratulations on your sober time.