Notices

Finally wanting to make a change

Old 03-29-2016, 12:09 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Finally wanting to make a change

This is my first time going outside of myself in search of help for my addiction. Although it's something that I've been confronted about by loved ones and myself before I've never really gone out my way to seek help. I've always thought I would be able to get threw this alone but in reality I was just fooling myself. I'm really at a low point in my life especially mentally, some days I can't even look myself in the mirror and I just wanna be free of this addiction and this horrible state of mind I've put myself in. So here I am, day one and I'm praying to my god that this time around I will be strong enough to do this for real, for myself and for the people that I love. I picked up my first drink when I was about 15 years old and haven't put it down since. My life has been nothing but me fixing my drunken mistakes and recovering from hangovers, I find myself drinking at least 3 times a week most times more then that. It's just so hard because no one around my really knows how diffcult it is to just stop, and even though I'll get the full support, they will really understand how it alone it feels to be here. I don't want to feel like this anymore, I don't want to feel like dying everyday because this addiction has a hold of my entire life. I just want to change and I hope that I can this time around. I keep telling myself that I will never pick up a drink again but when push comes to shove I never resist. So I'm hoping this can be a safe haven for me and I can come here and fight this, thank you for taking the time out to read this.
Old 03-29-2016, 12:13 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome.

I was right at that point when I finally stopped drinking. Suddenly, the stopping part seemed easier than continuing to drink. And I was right. How did I do it? Well I checked in here every day and talked with other people who could understand.