Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

Newbie here. Questions on recovery and health issues caused by alcoholism.

Notices

Old 03-07-2016, 05:53 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi guys. I just joined this site a few minutes ago. I accidentally posted in the wrong thread so hopefully this works out better.

I've been on and off trying to become sober from alcohol ever since 2016 started. I took my biggest break in a long time (3 weeks straight) but relapsed again as of this last Friday. I went on a huge day/night drinking binge up until Sunday night. I woke up today immediately vomiting, broke out into hives, rapid/irregular heart beat, etc.
My hangovers have been like this for a while now and I have gone into the ER multiple times for it because I always think I'm dying.

I went into the ER this morning for it and they gave me an IV of fluids, zofran fro the vomiting, and benadryl for the hives. It's been 10 hours now since I've been out but I'm still having rapid heart beat and lot of chest pain. It's really scaring me and I can't decide if I should just try to ignore it or go in again. Has anyone else experienced this from alcohol in the past?

I'm really hoping I can stop for good this time. Thanks for listening.

EDIT: I am a 22 year old women and I have been struggling with alcohol since I was 16 years old.

Last edited by WildYouth; 03-07-2016 at 05:56 PM. Reason: Just wanted to add in my age and gender.
Old 03-07-2016, 05:59 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
A Day at a Time

I would see a doctor. Alcohol withdrawal is potentially fatal. Not the kind of thing to try at home
Old 03-07-2016, 05:59 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by WildYouth View Post
Hi guys. I just joined this site a few minutes ago. I accidentally posted in the wrong thread so hopefully this works out better.