Notices

Cravings ... help!

Old 02-16-2016, 04:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Cravings ... help!

I knew today would be tough, but it's harder than I initially thought it would be. I'm having the worst cravings and I don't know what to do to get my mind off it. I have a terrible headache and I'm nauseous so even though it's dinner time, I don't feel like eating. I'm shaky and anxious. I'm having a tough time emotionally tonight and these cravings are making things worse. Anyone have any suggestions on what might work to get over the cravings or what has worked for you??? I'm new to all of this and today is only day 7. Thanks for any suggestions at all, I appreciate the help.
Old 02-16-2016, 04:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

I don't know if it's applicable to you, but when I was early in recovery and had bad cravings, I used to take my dogs for a short walk. Just to get out of the house and breathe fresh air. Can you go for a walk? With or without dogs, both work.

I used to also "play the tape thru" by remembering how it would end up if I drank. I didn't want to wake up hating myself anymore.
Old 02-16-2016, 04:22 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Sometimes you just have to put the day to bed. Take a hot shower, curl up with a nice blanket and say buh bye to the day. Start fresh tomorrow.
Old 02-16-2016, 04:23 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Gratz on the 7 days. Water ,water, and water. It keeps the hands and your tummy full. Also try a little ice cream and crackers. Not a lot but it helps settle the stomach. It gives you the sugar/carbs your body is screaming for. Good luck
Old 02-16-2016, 04:25 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Can you make yourself some warm tea, draw a bath, and light some candles to relax yourself?

If you can, get some food into your system. It will take the edge off the cravings.
Old 02-16-2016, 04:25 PM
  # 6 (permalink)