Overwhelmed and torn

Old 02-11-2016, 09:21 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Angry Overwhelmed and torn

Hi everyone,
I have been browsing this site reading posts for a couple of years but never posted before. I have LOTS of addicts in my life--parents, siblings, inlaws, friends but right now it's my live in boyfriend of a couple of years that I am the most overwhelmed with.

Basic background is that he was sober when we met, sober when we fell in love, sober when he moved in and relapsed when he lost his job a few months ago. To be realistic, he definitely was a dry drunk and had mental health concerns that I frequently tried to get him to address with a doctor, but we all know how well unwanted assistance goes over, so I backed off to let him fall down. Well, he did.

He did fall down, hard... finally for the first time really trying to get help and just began a dual diagnosis PHP and was diagnosed and now being treated for bipolar disorder.

The thing is, now that he is Day 3 of really seeking treatment and things are calming down, I am starting to come out of "auto-pilot mode" and all of the feelings that I have been suppressing over the past few months of complete chaos with him are hitting me - hard! I am just now starting to feel the anger and hurt and disappointment and come out of the trance that kept me from having a nervous breakdown over the past few months, especially the past couple of weeks.

Now, he is finally starting to feel okay and since he feels okay, he acts like I should just forget about everything and "focus on now" and gets mad that I don't trust him about sobriety yet. He can't understand why I am not being affectionate and said he thinks its unfair and wrong for me to be acting stand-offish and short with him.