New here - feeling guilty

Old 01-21-2016, 09:16 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here - feeling guilty

Hey everyone! I'm Allie and I just joined. I could really use some support and encouragement.

I've been enabling my boyfriend for the last 7 months since he moved in with my son (5 years old) and I, and after 2 days of him heavily drinking, stealing my debit card, telling me he never loved me and being physical with me, I ended it. I asked him to leave, and long story short, he ended up leaving in handcuffs after trying to fight the police its been a whirlwind.

He went back to his dad's house where he lived previously and he was told he wasn't welcome there until he got help.

Now he's messaging me, begging to come back and I've told him that isn't possible until he changes things. I feel so guilty, but I know I made the right. choice. I can't baby him anymore.

Sorry this is so long... Has anyone been in this situation before? I'd love to hear experiences. I'm so shaken
Old 01-21-2016, 09:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hang on yes, you did the right thing for you and your child. Those behaviors are unacceptable.

Can you relax in a hot bath, then go to bed with a movie or a book. Lock the doors and turn off your phone. Do you feel safe tonight?
Old 01-21-2016, 09:24 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

If it wouldn't disrupt your little boy, snuggling with him sounds good too!
Old 01-21-2016, 09:25 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Magsie

Hi alliemay, welcome to SR.

Don't feel guilty! He's the one who should be guilty, you've done nothing to deserve his behaviour.

You look after your son and yourself and let him sort himself out, if he can and wants to.

I've not experienced in what you've gone through, but someone will be along soon who has experienced similar problems from their partners.

Just wanted to say how brave you was and putting your son first and foremost, you both don't deserve and shouldn't have to put up with his behaviour.
Old 01-21-2016, 09:26 PM
  # 5 (permalink)