feel so helpless

Old 01-03-2016, 10:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

feel so helpless

Hello, this is my first time posting in any site but I need some advise.
My son is 27 years old, he went to college and is very smart. He started using heroin when he was 22. I had not idea. I trusted him. He had always been a good son. Never drank too much or partied too late. No problems in school, he always had good grades. From my understanding he started using because of his back pain. He said someone introduced it to him and it worked a lot better than all those pain killers he was taking. He started snorting and now is injecting.
He has never stolen money from us or anything significant from the house. He is not violent. When he was 22 he lost his job because the doctor he worked with was moving to another city. This was his breaking point. He no longer had money to support his habit and was having bad withdrawals. Again, I did not notice anything but some chapping on his upper lip, which he blamed on allergies. He confessed his problem.
Being new to this, I was devastated, did not know what or where to get help. Someone recommend a rehab in another city so we took him there. He was there for a week to detox, then they let him go. It turned out that rehab was more for mental problems and not so much a drug rehab. He was upset and blamed that for using again. I wanted to put him in a rehab center but he refused saying he only needed to move to another city.
He did, moved about 5 hours away from home. Was away for about two years but went back to using. Always hiding from us his problem. Lying and me always looking for evidence that he was still using.
At one point he signed himself into a rehab hospital for detox again but no long term rehab. A few months later he lost his job and he took out his 401 and I imagine had a drug binge. When he ran out of money he asked to come back home.