Notices

Back again

Old 09-12-2004, 12:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Back again

I am determined to be successful at sobriety. I found this forum in July and stayed sober for 7 days. I then had myself convinced that I could handle moderate/occasional drinking. What a joke that was!

I am sick and tired of felling like this. I feel my life slipping away from me every day that I continue to drink.

Here is to another attempt at day 1. I didn't suffer terrible withdrawal symptoms last time, but I am still worried this time. I work in the medical field and I know the stigma that many of my fellow co-workers feel towards alcoholics. Because of this, I am reluctant to talk to my doctor about my detox. I plan on attending meetings this time and hope I can be successful.
Any advice or words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated.

hockeychica
Old 09-12-2004, 01:40 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

You can do it hockeychica! It always amazes me how the disease is so insidious. It's like it has a life of its own, and will always put these little thoughts into our head, like, "you can drink just a little, you aren't really an alcoholic" etc

It has taken many clean addicts and alcoholics back to using. I know thats what happened to me. I relapsed after 10 months clean time, and I kept telling myself I can handle this, I will be more cautious now because of all I have learned through treatment. It won't get the better of me this time blah blah blah
Guess what? It got the better of me again, and true to the stories I have heard about relapse, I was right back where I left off again. I actually thought I was different. Funny
Back on track now, and have learned a valuable lesson because of my relapse
Keep coming back
Old 09-12-2004, 02:31 PM
  # 3 (permalink)