Notices

I am nervous and scared.

Old 12-21-2015, 12:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I am nervous and scared.

I am starting to worry about our vacation, and our return. I do not want destroy all of the progress I have made since last May. I worry about a slip, leading to two slips, leading to just keeping on drinking because I want to stay lubed up and dread the process of returning to being sober (primarily mild withdrawals etc...) I know how it is, I've done it.

I also have an appointment with my Dr. on January 11th and we are going to begin the tapering process. I am scared of that as well. I made the mistake of doing some research on google. That was probably a mistake. I know there will be periods of discomfort, but I want it to be minimal and go quickly. Although I have no idea what to expect as I've never done it before. So I admit, I'm kind of scared and am feeling fearful to a degree.
Old 12-21-2015, 12:08 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Make a solid plan to follow while your on vacation and there will be nothing to worry about. You have the ability to get on SR pretty much whenever you want via a phone, and you also have the ability to leave any situation that might be overwhelming. Make sure your wife is aware of your apprehension so you can coordinate a way to leave if you need to.

Regarding the taper, don't worry about that until January 11th - there's nothing you can do about it until then anyway.
Old 12-21-2015, 12:20 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

you can fire up the AA meeting finder for meetings at your destination. you're going to SoCal right? there should only be a gazillion or so to choose from.

limit your time with other drinkers. make SURE your bring your own beverages. when possible eat first. have OTHER things planned and DO them.