Notices

Does it really matter how many days sober?

Old 10-26-2015, 12:39 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Does it really matter how many days sober?

I have enormous admiration for anyone that has managed not to drink but what slightly worries me is how we count the days sober as milestones. To me this means drink or lack of it is still playing a huge part of our lives...if we are recovered should it even enter our minds?
I am not very good at explaining what I mean but I will try, time heals, I lost my partner some time ago, I have never forgotten him or ever will but I don't (anymore) count the days since his accident. I have other similar scenarios which time hasn,t heeled but days have become months and months become years.
Any day sober is a very good day, so just take a day at a time.
Old 10-26-2015, 12:46 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Trudgin

My sobriety date is very important to me - it reminds me of my last drunk, something I can never forget. As time passes, my brain starts to tell me it's ok to drink a little. On 6.8.2014 I took my last drink - I am not trying to memorialize the date, but I can ill afford not to remember the misery I choose to create.

Some know their sobriety date, some don't. Have your journey and decide what's of value to you!

Glad you're here, welcome
Old 10-26-2015, 12:48 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

For me, counting the days that I did not drink gives me a feeling of accomplishment. I do the same thing at the gym. I keep track of what I've accomplished there also. It just give me the feeling that I'm progressing. John
Old 10-26-2015, 12:53 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Do your best

I counted as it mattered that much to me every day like you said it was relief counting how far away I was getting

Days turned to months & months turned to years this April 6th il be 1000 days I'm looking forward to that but like you said I only have today