Notices

Does he have a problem?

Old 10-04-2015, 05:04 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Does he have a problem?

I'm writing this for a neighbor I meet often through a mutual interest in woodworking. I'm acting as his intermediary because he has difficulty writing and he claims his computer skills are even worse than mine. We are nearly the same age (78), retired and are both caregivers for wives who are mostly but not fully independent. We live in a rural part of the southern Arizona desert. Except for educational backgrounds, we are a lot alike: he finished high school and worked as a mechanic, I have a PhD and have variously worked as a mechanic, soldier and professor. In a lot of ways we are kindred souls.

He was interested and curious when I quit drinking and asked me a lot about it. Now he is wondering whether he should. I keep telling him that he would have nothing to loose and he'd save enough to buy that new table saw he wants. He's not so sure.

He often begins drinking about noon with one or two strong (6.0 - 7.5%) beers or a glass of wine. He'll then hold off until mid afternoon when he quits work in his shop and goes to the house to read. Between 2:30 and 5:30 he will drink between 1/2 and occasionally nearly a full bottle of red wine, has dinner and drinks no more for the day. He's tried to quit but mostly doesn't see the point.

He suffers from mild, periodic depression and claims that drinking helps him feel better. And, like a lot of us older people he has spells of boredom; his relate to having to be around to support his wife. He is in good health: he walks 2-3 miles every morning and goes hunting, fishing and hiking when the opportunity presents. He often feels a sense of isolation even though he is happily married.

My point is that he seems to rely on alcohol to make him feel better most days and can feel blue and bored without it. To me that is a sign of addiction.