Notices

Newcomer seeking advice

Old 09-28-2015, 11:46 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newcomer seeking advice

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this site and the road to recovery. After this weekend I finally realized I needed to quit drinking. I have been drinking for many years, despite only being 24. I may not drink every single day, but still several days a week. When I do drink it is usually to excess. Over the weekend I went out for a few drinks with my boyfriend and some of our friends. While drinking, I found myself frustrated with my boyfriend and trying to pick arguments. I then ended up beligerent drunk and flirting with a guy I knew he didn't like to make him jealous. When I woke up yesterday, I had the most awful hangover and a lot of shame. I love my boyfriend and hate that I have hurt him in this way. I did things I would never do while sober. Today, I am skipping class because I still feel so poorly after that night of drinking. I am two days without a drink and am pushing to stay that way. I have other health issues that are also made worse by my drinking so hopefully that will be motivation to stop. My questions now are:
1) How do I make it up to the people I've hurt?
2) What do you do to keep yourself from taking that drink?
3) Do you reward yourself for making it without a drink, if so, how?
4) Are you ever able to be around people who are drinking without drinking as well?

I desperately want to change. I have tried to quit before, but never knew what steps to take or direction to go in.
Old 09-28-2015, 11:52 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Do your best

Hello & Welcome
Old 09-28-2015, 11:53 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Hears The Voice

WELCOME TO SR!

Originally Posted by ovrslov View Post
4) Are you ever able to be around people who are drinking without drinking as well?
1) By being a better person now.
2) I don't pour alcohol into the hole under my nose.
3) I used to with ice cream, but sobriety is its own reward now.
4) All the time.

Best of Luck on Your Journey.