Trying to be strong

Old 09-10-2015, 11:32 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Trying to be strong

Hello this is my first time writing on here I have been dealing with my husbands drug addiction for the past 3 years and I am just done I am mentally and physically exhausted I have a 3 year old daughter and I cannot let this effect her . but it already is he has been in rehab and detox 3 times but never stayed longer than the detox due to my insurance not covering it but this last place I had him in he did detox 5 days which is nothing and refused the 28 day rehab even though it would be paid for I told him if he leaves there he cannot come home because he won't even try I'm tired of the lies I'm tired of the finances being messed up BC of his problem I'mtired of all of it but now its aaffecting my daughter she's crying every night I miss my daddy I told her he is working far away for a while BC I don't know what else to do that is breaking my heart more than anything I grew up WO a father and so did my husband and now he's doing it to my little girl I need to b strong I told him he cannot comeback until he gets the help he needs period! Any advice i would appreciate
Old 09-10-2015, 12:59 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

naynayjbj,

First, welcome to the forum - there is a wealth of experience, information, strength and support here.

"I told him he cannot comeback until he gets the help he needs period!"

That was a good decision and you need to stick to it. So sorry that you and your daughter are in this situation.

Your husband will not get clean and stay clean until he is ready. This is a personal choice requiring firm commitment from the addict - your desires, court orders, your daughter's pleas, nothing will change the outcome until he is really ready.

"Love cannot save our addicted loved ones, if it could, not one of us would be here." - Ann from soberrecovery.com