Dating

Old 09-07-2015, 09:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Ca**ie

Dating

I met a man, (on a online dating site). We talked a few times on the phone (five times for extended conversations) and eventually I asked him about drinking habits. By the way, on my dating profile I pointed out I don't date addicts/alcoholics which I think a recovering alcoholic would look twice at and probably avoid me. Anyway, he said he did not drink. I asked why? He said "I have an allergy to alcohol; it makes me do stupid things and commit felons". (I almost choked, and a million thoughts went through my head, like "Whyyyyyyy...why are there so many alcoholics"... But I remained calm and said, "Oh, I see, so you are a recovering alcoholic? I have had some experience with people with alcoholism, it's a rough experience" His response was dismissive; something like, "If you want to hear the whole sordid story sometime....", and he quickly changed the subject. So, my take from this is the following. The alcoholic has a difficult situation to gauge when and how to talk about the important issues, such as how long they have been sober. It's really on them to create a comfort level for (us), the non addict who is considering dating them. This conversation was to me a deal breaker. I don't think I would date him even casually because I am too nervous about alcoholics especially when they make a joke about being a "felon". But this evasive conversation was the deal breaker. It's no joking matter. It's not something I can be casual about or give the benefit of the doubt. I emailed him a couple days later and told him I didn't think we had enough in common...etc.

For those folks who date out there, at what point do you bring up drinking habits or if you are a recovering alcoholic, when do you feel like bringing the subject up? So many first or second dates involve a drink.

Thanks

Carrie
Old 09-07-2015, 10:27 PM
  # 2 (permalink)