Notices

Save me from myself!

Old 08-23-2015, 11:38 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Save me from myself!

Hello all.

I don't know how exactly it all happened. Funny how one's willpower gets frayed and unravelled like old shoelaces...

I'm an expat writer, working on my fourth novel in a remote village-town in southern Ukraine. I have been 100% sober since January 5, 2015 (and long periods before that, but always eventually slipping).

Started working round the clock to meet my editor's deadline...putting the book ahead of my health...I didn't take any breaks. My self-esteem was getting more and more frayed like those shoelaces. And then, last week I got chewed out by my Ukrainian neighbor, an uneducated taxi driver. Fact is, his car was the only one in the lot, and I was rushing to get to the bank before it closes.

--"Sasha! please, can you take me to the center right now? The bank is closing in a few minutes!"

Sasha is sitting at the nearby cafe, his bony leg crossed over his thigh, one hand holding a cigarette, the other a tiny cup of espresso.
---"I'm drinking my coffee."

I was pretty startled, but at first I tried to call a taxi company. Only after the phone rang repeatedly, and no one picked up, did I go back to Sasha, miffed.

"Sasha, please! I'm going to be late. I have given so many clothes to your wife." (I said the latter, meaning: I'm your neighbor and I am a good, generous person).

He starts screaming at me, so I ended up walking to a gas station and calling a taxi from there, and of course, missing the bank. They closed for lunch for a whole hour.

Later, I knocked on my neighbor's door to straighten out things. We're adults, right? Well, he opens the door, screams nonstop some more, how it is all my fault, how I humiliated him, how the woman he was having coffee with has cancer, etc. etc.