Notices

The recovery game

Old 08-10-2015, 10:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

The recovery game

I drink daily for over 20 years. The last 10 years have been excessive. It never felt like a boardgame to get here, but it seems recovery has been classified as a board game. If we falter we're supposed to go back to start and that doesn't seem right. For me, my sobriety date will be the day I accepted what I am, and when I made a commitment to change. Should I become weak but my dedication not waver I will not punish myself. I have a feeling that may not seem fair to many, but for now it seems that it works for me.

I'm really new to this recovery thing and don't know the appropriate guidelines and rules. I don't have a plan, I don't have a sponsor and I don't have a desire to attend group meeting. What I have is a great therapist (who doesn't charge when I text her), this website, a few close friends who know my struggles and a desire to be better.
Old 08-10-2015, 10:57 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I wouldn't worry too much setting yourself up in opposition to any rules you might perceive.
There are no recovery police looking to collar you here

The only real suggestions I would recommend you, or anyone else follow are
  • don't drink
  • find support and use it
  • work out your path to being happy sober
  • rinse and repeat
D
Old 08-10-2015, 11:02 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Honestly, I totally agree with you. I know I'm a hard core alcoholic, it's stolen my life, I can never have a single drink because there's a high potential of it turning into a 2+ week binge, if I continue drinking I'll most likely die in the near future, and so on.