Feeling horribly guilty

Old 08-06-2015, 11:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Feeling horribly guilty

Have I done the right thing by telling AH to leave?

I feel horribly guilty, awfully horribly guilty.

I KNOW I don't want the kids witnessing his drunken behaviour...I know I am doing the right thing by the,. And I know they are way in front in the priority stakes.

But his words about my actions hit me hard...I know he's going down the hole of addiction faster because he's not at home. That he feels abandoned and alone. He's been telling me for weeks how much he's struggling...I feel like a total b*tch kicking him out when he is so down.

He is begging me to come home. So many calls and texts, begging me.

And as I write this I know I am being pathetic...of course he's a grown man and as he is feeling terrible, and struggling there were 100 things he could have done to help himself, and that I am not an expert and there is nothing I could realistically do.

But I still feel terrible.

I told him when he is ready to tackle his addiction again then we can talk. So its in his hands. And obviously he needs to want it for him, not just so he can com home.

Agghhh I hate hate hate this.
Old 08-06-2015, 11:45 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sober since 10th April 2012

You mentioned he had a relapse plan. Is he following it?

From what you've said since his relapse he's going down the hole regardless of whether he's home or not. He seems to be saying home restrains him; given his history it would be a matter timing before he hits bottom, but with the kids watching.
Sorry about this conflict. Where does his counsellor and treatment service fit into the scenario?
Old 08-07-2015, 12:12 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

You shouldn't feel guilty at all. You're doing the best thing for you and your children, and he's not doing the best thing for anyone - including himself. He is the only one that can save himself, and if he doesn't want to bother, how can you possibly do anything about it?