Notices

why does AA say..

Old 08-06-2015, 07:58 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

why does AA say..

I was at another meeting this evening… and The woman who spoke spoke about how AA is based on principals and not on your emotions.

I don't get it sine I started drinking to escape my feelings it is obviously something that needs to be addressed??
Old 08-06-2015, 08:06 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

She said it's "based" on principles. In other words, principles are the foundation that it's built on. The 12 steps are meant to address all that emotional stuff, so you will certainly have a lot of that in AA as well.
Old 08-06-2015, 08:16 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I think it's actually principals before personalities. I think what it means is the principals sets forth by the program are more important than the different personalities in the group. I'm no expert on this topic though.
Old 08-06-2015, 08:20 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Mary, my impression after quite a few meetings is that AA is indeed based on principles. It works for the varying size groups. If people tried to work through their emotions in AA meetings those meetings would last forever! By sticking to clearly defined principles, AA is easy to follow and it does work for many. Some people aren't willing to work on their emotions. Personally I find emotional work to be incredibly valuable. For my recovery, I have utilized a number of different resources - AA for the fellowship to help me stay sober, a pdoc to help me with emotional issues, and an intensive outpatient program to give me both information and tools to help during difficult times. In addition, I try to exercise, avoid isolating, learned yoga, meditate, etc. Each of these has been a key part of my recovery. No one of these things was enough by itself!
Old 08-06-2015, 11:24 PM
  # 5 (permalink)