Is this issue worth breaking NC?? Please guide me.

Old 06-14-2015, 06:54 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Is this issue worth breaking NC?? Please guide me.

Hello SR Community!

I am somewhat new here am very grateful to have found this amazing resource.

I have a question and would like some feedback.

I have 31 days of No Contact NC from my XAB. We were involved for about a year but steady for 90 days when he was sober. He was working a program and I was working mine.

I helped him get funding, housing (not with me but a sober community living) and I was really in love with him and willing to stand by the struggles of a newcomer. He moved out of the area he had been in his whole life to be with me and did well at the sober community we found for him.

I hadn't really felt this way about anyone since my ex husband 10 years ago so I was really happy but knew what I was up against as well.

I'm in Al -Anon 10 years, I work in the field and I know the rule about one year sober before dating, I ignored it and I bought the dream, hoping with program we could put a life together. Boundaries were good.

We had a really loving few months where he was very giving and good to me and my son. He was also doing AA as designed and I was doing Al Anon differently then I ever had before.
To him I was a bit more cold and controlling even though inside I was really in love with him.

After about 90 days sober I started backing off a bit hoping he would
get more self-sufficient, I was also nagging and putting unrealistic expectations on him. He is a chronic relapser, lots of wreckage

He eventually drank and almost got himself killed through a fight leading to a brain injury and days in the ICU.

Though the guidance of both AA and Al-Anon I was told not to help him through this one and stay away from the hospital.