Notices

I cant live like this anymore

Old 05-08-2015, 12:46 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I cant live like this anymore

Let me begin by saying that this is the first real attempt at getting help from alcohol. After another serious black out bender, I find my self broken, and on the verge of losing it all. I have been 24 hours sober and know I have to give it up permenanly.

I have been drinking heavily for 25 years, mostly weekends through high school, was a complete trainwreck through college, and continued to drink heavily through my 30'.s I have been convicted of two DWI's, once in a crash where I could have died. I can drive again but find myself not caring if I have had a few before doing so. My entire family on my mothers side are alcoholics (some in recovery).

I also have a wonderful wife and three lovely children and I want to be the best dad I can be. I am doing well in my career, but one wrong move (another DWI) and I will literally ruin my life and families life for good. I love them so much. I have reached out to a counsleour for help. I am close to 300 lbs and my doctor noticed elevated live enzymes in my last blood work. I am so tired of lying about my drinking. I am afraid.
Old 05-08-2015, 01:02 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR! There is a lot of support and information here.

Originally Posted by Needanewme View Post
I have been 24 hours sober and know I have to give it up permanently.
Congrats on 24 hours! Now keep that mindset.

The idea of giving it up for life, permanently, can feel way to daunting.

I have taken the choice to drink off the table, but only daily. One day, 24 hours. I can stay sober 24 hours. I can't see into the future, I can only live for today.

There are a lot of recovery options, best to find one and start today.

Take it easy, read and get some support here, everything is going to be okay. Take it one day at a time.
Old 05-08-2015, 01:09 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

yes, 24 hours.